• Macedonia

    Europe > Macedonia

    Ten Macedonian Denars (1996)
    Fifty Macedonian Denars (1996)
    One Hundred Macedonian Denars (2009)
    Five Hundred Macedonian Denars (2009)

    Banknotes of Macedonia

    The denar (plural: denariMacedonian: денар and денари, denar and denariISO 4217 code: MKD) is the currency of the Republic of Macedonia. It is subdivided into 100 deni (Macedonian: дени). The name denar comes from the name of theancient Roman monetary unit, the denarius. The currency symbol is ден, the first three letters of its name. The first denar was introduced on 26 April 1992. It replaced the 1990 version of the Yugoslav dinar at par. On 5 May 1993, the currency was reformed, with one new denar (MKD) being equal to 100 old denari (MKN).
    Notes were introduced on 27 April 1992 in denominations of 10, 25, 50, 100, 500, 1000, 5000 and 10,000 denari, although preparations for producing the first Macedonian banknotes began well before Macedonia declared its independence. The difficulties of creating a new currency in secret is reflected in the notes themselves. The paper, which was purchased from Slovenia, proved to be of poor quality and lacking in adequate security. Although denominated in denari, the name of the currency does not appear on the notes because they were printed prior to the adoption of the Law on the Monetary Unit. Likewise, the issuer appears (in Macedonian) as the National Bank of Macedonia, not its successor, the National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia.
    The notes were produced by the printing firm “11 October” in Prilep, and were designed by graphic designers Sasho Josifovski and Borce Nikolovski, as well as the artist Borce Todorovski. The six lowest denominations are identical with the exception of their colors. They all feature a man and two women picking tobacco leaves on the front, with the back devoted to the Ilinden monument in Kruševo, which, according to the bank, “expresses the eternal fight of Macedonian citizens for life in peace and freedom.”