• Congo

    Africa > Congo

    Twenty Congolese Francs (1997)
    Fifty Congolese Francs (1997)

    Banknotes of Congo

    The franc is the currency of the Democratic Republic of Congo. It is subdivided into 100 centimes

    During Belgian colonial rule, currency denominated in centimes and francs was issued for use in Congo. These francs were equal in value to the Belgian franc. From 1916, the Congolese franc also circulated in Rwanda and Burundi. From 1952, the currency was issued bearing the names Belgian Congo (either "Congo Belge" or "Belgische Congo") and "Ruanda-Urundi".
    The franc remained Congo's currency after independence until 1967, when the zaïre was introduced, at a rate of 1 zaïre = 1000 francs.
    In 1896 the Independent State of Congo issued 10 and 100 franc notes. In 1912, the Bank of Belgian Congo introduced 20 and 1000 francs, followed by notes of 1, 5 and 100 franc notes in 1914. 
    In 1961, the National Bank of Congo introduced notes for 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 francs, some of which were issued until 1964. 
    In 2010, Banque Centrale du Congo issued 20 million 500 franc banknotes to commemorate the country's 50th anniversary of independence from Belgium.
    On July 2, 2012, the Banque Centrale du Congo issued new banknotes in denominations of 1000, 5000, 10,000 and 20,000 francs.